Read the full press release on the Ontario News Room website.

Watch the recording of the announcement on the Ontario Ministry of Transportation's Twitter.

Supporting Transportation Services in Unserved or Underserved Communities

PRESCOTT AND RUSSELL – The Ontario government is extending funding of up to $14 million over two years for communities providing transportation services in unserved and underserved regions across Ontario through the Community Transportation Grant Program.

Additional funding will help ensure transportation services in 38 communities across the province have additional time to fully establish their transportation services as they recover from the COVID-19 pandemic and build transportation services up to a sustainable level. This will better position municipalities to continue operating after the program has completed.

“The Community Transportation Grant Program is making life easier for people living in areas with few public transportation options,” said Caroline Mulroney, Minister of Transportation. “The additional investment in local and intercommunity transportation services will help residents – including Indigenous people, seniors and people with disabilities – get to work, school or appointments and will give communities added security as they recover from the impacts of COVID-19 and plan for the future.”

The Community Transportation Grant Program is currently providing up to $30 million over five years (2018-2023) to 38 municipalities to deliver 43 projects. This includes several municipalities who are partnering with or serving Indigenous communities and organizations.

The funding announced today will extend support for transportation services including bus service, on-demand shared rides and door-to-door transportation services supported by the program for two additional years.

Quick Facts

  • The United Counties of Prescott-Russell are set to receive an additional $975,534.90 over two years, between 2023 and 2025, to supplement the two million dollars in provincial funding awarded between 2018 and 2023.